



I have been away from this site for a while here. Tech Rescue has seen a surprising uptake in the last couple of weeks. It’s crazy and it seems to be coming at a good time.
Bob’s contract at DHS is up today, so he will be looking for a new job or contract.
We have found out that we probably won’t have to sell our new truck. Becca’s mom traded her 2002 Chevy S10 ZR2 for Becca’s Buick Regal. It was an excellent trade for us, but not so for Cathy… Anyway, we thought that in order for Becca to tow the horse trailer, we would need to get a bigger truck. According to the manual however, it can tow 5500 pounds. The hitch is rated at 5500lbs (750 tongue) as long as we have the stabilizer rods. The trailer is just under 2000 pounds. Cricket weighs about 900 and a horse for me would be no more than 1500. That would be 4600 pounds, well under the maximum. That’s pretty cool and takes a lot off our minds.
I’ll update more later.




I got home today to a contact email in my inbox. It was sent this morning at around 8am from “A Concerned Citizen” that wanted to let me know that “You are a douch bag! I don’t know you, thank God”. Yes, that was this person’s spelling error.
Anyway, my logs say that he came to my site by Google searching “geek squad at minnesota wild game” from a Comcast IP address that traces back to a website called “Wetwerks Security”. It appears to be a company that is trying to be something of a “more training” for police and security officers to (in their own words) “support security and peace, and freedom and democracy everywhere.”
The server is running on an Apache web server on Windows XP Media Center. (Apache/2.2.3 (Win32) DAV/2 mod_ssl/2.2.3 OpenSSL/0.9.8d mod_autoindex_color PHP/4.4.4). While digging around the website, I found mention of the “Wold Family”. After a quick search, I found a website that has a bunch of photos that is registered to a guy named “K. Wold”. I did a quick search and found out that he is a software developer in Burnsville, or at least he was one as of Febuary 2, 2005. He is married and appears to have 2 kids. The funny thing is that he looks familiar to me, but I can’t place him…
A little more searching lead me to an actual address on Barbara Lane in Burnsville, a 952-7xx-xxxx phone number and a yahoo.com email address.
The point of this little story is to show how easy it is to find out who someone is that sends a stupid or harassing comment on these here interwebs. Why on earth would this concerned citizen, AKA Mr. Wold, send such a constructive one line comment and expect me to not dig in and find out who he was?
I don’t think I will actually contact him via his email address that I know, his phone number that I know, or his snail mail address that I also know. My thought is that he may come back to see this post and maybe a dialog will happen. From his website, he actually doesn’t strike me as one who would comment like that unless he knows me or thinks he does. In fact, he seems like the kind of guy that I would get along with quite nicely.
We will have to see.


More Options ...

Categories
Tag Cloud
Blog RSS
Comments RSS

Void
Life
Earth
Wind
Water « Default
Fire
Light 